Complaints Categories

One Source Remodeling

 

Posted : 2 Oct ,2017 by   

 

 

Homeowners caught in legal battle between solar company and supplier
Posted: May 18, 2011 2:14 PM
Updated: Mar 09, 2015 9:21 PM

SUN LAKES, Ariz. - Alfreda Wilson and Louis Simmons recently refinanced their Sun Lakes home.

With the money they saved, they decided to invest in solar panels.

We're gonna take this little extra money and kinda cut our bills in the long run, she said.

They hired a Valley company called Arizona Solar Water and HVAC to do the install.

A man named Ray Baxter owns the company, and several others including Arizona Power Save.

You may remember Baxter.

He didn't want to speak with us two years ago at his Mesa office even though he'd invited us there for an interview.

We wanted to ask Baxter about a complaint from another homeowner in Sun City.

They came with a crew with no knowledge of what they were doing, Luther Abrahamson said.

Wilson said she's having trouble with Baxter now too.

It's not right! she said.

Last year, Wilson and her husband paid Baxter's company more than $16,000 to install solar panels.

But, according to court documents filed earlier this year, "Arizona Power Save has refused to pay" its supplier, Consolidated Electrical Distributors.

So, C.E.D. filed a lawsuit and placed liens on the homes of several of Baxter's customers.

It s not our fault that he didn't pay for his materials, Wilson said.

It s a situation that should never have happened, said attorney Mike Fiflis.

Some homeowners have hired Fiflis to fight the lawsuit.

Fiflis argues clients had no idea that buried in their contract was another contract which allows C.E.D. to file a mechanics lien against the project if it is not timely paid.

People were, at least in my opinion, clearly duped into doing this, Fiflis said.

3 On Your Side tried again to talk with Baxter but he's a hard man to find.

We went back to the address where we found him the first time but we were told he'd been gone for more than a year.

At another one of Baxter's business addresses -- this one in Tempe -- all we found were locked doors and word from the landlord that Baxter had broken his lease and moved out months ago.

So, where does that leave Wilson, Simmons and other homeowners who now have liens against their properties.

It's gonna take all our savings, it's gonna wipe us out, she said.

They paid their bills, so 3 On Your Side just wanted to ask Baxter if he plans on paying his.

As 3 On Your Side has been working to resolve these cases, the legal battle has also been playing out in court.

An agreement has been reached between C.E.D. and Arizona Power Save. According to the courts, Baxter must repay C.E.D. $50,000 by May 18.

Just before our report aired on May 17, Baxter finally responded to our e-mails:

"Agreement reached, payments made, liens released! APS"

3 On Your Side has been unable to confirm this, but will continue to monitor this story.

UPDATE: 3 On Your Side has confirmed Ray Baxter has not paid C.E.D. the full amount of the agreement and therefore, all liens have not been released. Baxter requested more time to pay C.E.D. He now has until June 1 at 5pm.

 

This complaint has been visited 627 times since it was published.

 


Share This :   Technorati Twitter Stumble Upon share

Comments

  Oct 4, 2017 By     X
 

Attitude : Agree

Homeowners caught in crossfire between solar companies
Posted: Jun 07, 2011 9:47 PM Updated: Mar 09, 2015 9:25 PM
Sun Lakes, Ariz. - Ray Baxter is the owner of the business Alfreda Wilson and Louis Simmons hired to install solar panels on their sun lakes home.

They paid $16,000 and had the system installed last year but say because of Baxter, they could lose their home altogether.

It's not right! Alfreda said.

Earlier this year, Baxter's solar panel supplier, Consolidated Electrical Distributors, filed a lawsuit against Baxter and placed liens on the homes of nine of his customers.

The lawsuit claims Baxter's business, Arizona Power Save, has refused to pay CED for supplies.
It s not our fault that he didn't pay for his materials, Alfreda said.

So why are homeowners who paid stuck in the middle?

Because of a contract that homeowners supposedly signed which allows CED to file a mechanics lien against the project if it is not timely paid.

But Alfreda says she doesn't remember signing any such contract, and has hired attorney Mike Fiflis.

No one was told about CED at the time they were signing their contract, no one was told you re going to give a lien to the supplier, Fiflis said. People were, at least in my opinion, clearly duped into doing this.

3 On Your Side has tried to contact Ray Baxter but we're not the only ones.

A process server wants to serve Baxter with a $200,000 lawsuit accusing him of skipping out the lease at his Tempe business address.

Oh, we'll find him, the process server said. He can't run forever.

The only response 3 On Your Side has received from Baxter was a short email stating, "Agreement reached, payments made, liens released!"

We checked and according to Baxter's supplier that filed the lawsuit in the first place, no liens have been released.

That leaves homeowners like Alfreda and Louis still in limbo.

If we have to pay the $14,000, it's gonna take all our savings, it's gonna wipe us out, Alfreda said.

Baxter had until June 1, 2011 to pay the settlement agreement, $50,000, but we're told that didn't happen.

Meantime, a judge has 20 days to issue a letter of recommendation as to what should happen with Baxter s contractor's license.

UPDATE: June 9, 2011
A judge has recommended that Baxter's license be revoked unless 'the Arizona Registrar of Contractor's receives and accepts written proof that Baxter has paid $137,465.51 to CED.'

  Nov 30, 2017 By     OSR
 

Attitude : Agree

Daniel Alford a former telemarkerer KEEPS posting this OLD RESOLVED newspaper clipping in an EFFORT to EXTORT us and is trying to CAUSE HARM to OUR BUSINESS. He even uses our dog's name as an effort to HIDE his identy. ALL UNTRUE AND EXTORTION FROM A GUY WHO WORK HERE.

Here is what our customers are saying about us.

John was delighted to get a quote from Ray - the prices were great, and the quality and look was just what we wanted in our new kitchen. We put in a huge island, new kitchen and remodeled the great room. The contractor (Travis) who moved walls, did plumbing, electrical and tile was also excellent. All the workers were great - and best of all - Ray was able to get the job done in just a couple of weeks - this is amazing, as most people have to go through months of inconvenience for a complete remodel! Thank you Ray and team!
Eve and John, Sun City West

It was a pleasure working with Ray. He was pleasant and always prompt in responding to questions or issues during the project. His teams were all professional and tidy when working in our home. We are very happy with the updated look we now have in our 25 yr old kitchen. The price and relatively short period of inconvenience were all worth it! Bonnie G, Mesa AZ

Ray and his team are fantastic to work with!! They did my kitchen back splash and will be doing my floors later, but he gave great advice and was always prompt. His team did a great, quality job and we were really happy with the price too. Katie B

One Source did a major remodel of our kitchen and baths. Ray had fantastic ideas that we incorporated into the design. The workmanship and results far exceeded our expectations. We get a lot of great comments that our kitchen now looks like a model home. They completely remodeled the master bathroom Tore out the old corner bathtub and shower and built a beautiful, large walk-in travertine shower. Their price was very reasonable as well. I highly recommend One Source for any remodeling. Mitch A Chandler AZ

Ray was great to work with and offered suggestions for design. He returned calls promptly and answered any questions I had. I did feel that there was a bit of lack of communication from his crew to him as I had to call a couple of times to see about arrival days and times on some of the work. Other then that, I am very pleased with my new bathroom and would recommend America's Best Bath. Description of work: Remodel our master bathroom. Removed old shower, which was a surround stall type. Had a new tiled shower/floor installed with decor and a beautiful shower door, new granite vanity top with double sinks installed. They also put the same decor tile above the garden tub and tiled the front of the tub, which really looks great. Had old dark floor tile removed and a lighter color tile floor installed. Looks very nice. Deloris Tolleson AZ

Everything was done with excellent care and beautiful design. The step in the living room was completely removed and a cement ramp was made, covered with the identical tile in the rest of the house. Ray all the other men on his crews worked together to make sure everything was completed perfectly. Description of work: We had the shower remodeled into a walk in, two pocket doors and a new back door installed, and a wheelchair ramp installed in a sunken living room. Karen Mesa AZ

Post Your Comments

Comment * : Agree        Neutral        Disagree

Attach photos

Security Code * :

Click Here To Reload Image   =  
click on the image to reload it..
X
Had an experience with One Source Remodeling?
Live Help

Videos